My Outlander Book Obsession or Why I Haven’t Been Writing

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything.  I’d like to say that life got in the way, but I’d be lying.  Books got in the way.  Yes, I discovered a series of books that I had somehow overlooked in years past and became hooked – line and sinker.  Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series stole my attention and I became shamelessly addicted to her main characters Jamie and Claire.

I was glad that it took me so long to discover the series because that enabled me to go from sequel to sequel without waiting for that annoying process they call writing.  And some of those books ended on such cliffhangers that I might’ve gone totally loony waiting for the next one to arrive in stores.  (Yes, in stores, because the series started back when that was the way people actually bought books!)  As it worked out, I was satisfied with the ending of the latest ‘In My Own Heart’s Blood’ but it did leave me a bit bereft – you  know, like a smoker with no more cigarettes…a drinker with no more alcohol…

Okay, I have a confession to make.  My name is Deana and I am an Outlander addict.  I think I may just have to re-read the first novel in the series again.  Because I need more of Jamie and Claire.

But, I promised my family when I finished the series I would stop reading books for awhile as they were missing my attention. My youngest son likes to tell people about how he caught me reading while I was walking down the hallway – I bumped slightly into the wall and just kept on walking and reading.  (I was on my way to the laundry room to take the clothes out of the dryer, but I was at a really good part and didn’t want to put it down…)

So, I’ve been holding off – for now.  I’ve given my family lots of attention over the holidays.  But for anyone who has been hooked on this series – you know exactly my baffled state of mind.  I know I’m not the only one who started talking with a Scottish accent while reading the books because I’ve heard others admit to it on Facebook.  (By the way, I don’t think anyone ever really picked up on my Scottish accent because my Texas accent is so strong, but I dinna fash, LOL.)

At any rate, I’ve been ‘jonesin” for some more ‘Outlander’ and have enjoyed listening to some Facebook friends as they have discovered the series and I get to re-live it through their joyful posts, but it’s not the same as 1st hand Outlander relief.  Thank goodness we at least have the new Outlander series on Starz to watch this coming year, Praise Jesus H. Roosevelt Christ!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Fiction, Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

