Writing a Novel (in 1 Month)!

November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and this year I thought it would be a crazy, wacky idea for me to try.  Most likely I will write crap, but hey, practice makes perfect right?  Or, in the very least, practice makes you better.  I want to try it, but at this point, I don’t even have a fleeting idea of what kind of novel to write, much less the story to fill it.  I’m crossing my fingers that when I sit down and begin typing November 1st that the God of writing will send magic waves into my mind that turns into a story on the page.  But what to attempt?  A Mystery, a drama, some type of teen story, a pre-teen fantasy story, or something ‘Shady’ (romance with an edge), Horror, Suspense, Memoir….so many to choose….where to start?  I enjoy reading almost everything so saying to write what you read is no help to me.

So tell me, what is your vote?  What would you like to read if I wrote it?  I’m taking suggestions for the next few days.

If nothing else at the end of November I will just title my book “Crap” and shove it in a box somewhere.

6 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts, Writing

6 responses to “Writing a Novel (in 1 Month)!

  1. AnnieMac

    I think it is so cool that you’re doing NaNoWriMo!!! Some of my friends are doing it, and I am in awe of them, and you. Best of luck!
    And don’t worry if it isn’t ready for publication, or if your inner critic thinks it is crap. Practice is the ONLY THING that makes you better. The goal is just to have done it, to have put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) for an entire month! That is an accomplishment!!

    • Thanks. I had thought about doing this before but November is a notoriously bad month for finding free time. I decided this year to just make the time. I’ve read so much about writing but nothing can make you become a better writer more than the simple fact of writing – so writing I will do. I’m amazed every time I sit down to write because sometimes I don’t have a clue what to write, but the story happens when I force my butt to sit in computer chair and stay there until my word count is good enough. You should try it too. And you are right, even if it’s crap at the end, it’s better than nothing!

  2. Kariann Dunn

    I love your writings and always have! I remember sitting down in your apartment as you were showing me poems and other writings of yours and I remember the poem you made for me and framed as a gift…I still have it and will sell it for millions when you are famous! Ha! Just kidding I will always cherish it! You are a brilliant writer and I know you will find success!

    Love ya!

    • Awwhhh! Thanks! I think I have grown as a writer since those old poem days. Sometimes when I look back at some the stuff I wrote then, I think, “That’s crap!” LOL. But maturity and knowledge along with practice will hopefully make me a published writer some day. And if you can sell that poem for millions then, it won’t hurt my feelings at all! Thanks for the kudos, I always need’em! 🙂 Luv ya!

  3. Kariann Dunn

    P.S. I know I am late in all my comments…sorry…:(

Leave a Reply

