Work Out

Yesterday I went to the gym to get my ‘workout prescription’ – basically a professional showed me how to work the machines and which ones I should use.  We decided it would be great if I could make it three times a week to do the machines and get 30 minutes of cardiovascular exercise.  I’m hoping to take in a few of their exercise classes too, such as a yoga, pilates, water boot camp and or tai chi.  They offer a great selection but for me it’s just like shopping when you are hungry.  You get big ideas and buy all this food to cook but once you get home you lose steam and just throw something into the microwave.  I do that looking at their exercise class schedules.  I think ‘Oh, I’d like to try that.  And that would be great for me.  And oh, that one sounds fun!”  Then reality hits and in between doing household chores and running errands I end up not doing any classes.

I have good intentions and need this time to get on track with exercising though.  I’m getting old and the middle age spread is beginning on my mid-section and I don’t like muffin top when I dress in clothes.  I cannot stand how it feels!  And I can tell my posture is getting worse so I need to strengthen my back muscles to help with that.  And don’t even get me started on what is happening to my boobs.  Damn gravity.

Thankfully, I wasn’t too sore today which is a good sign.  Normally, when I first start a new workout regime I get too gung ho and overdo it the first day so much that it takes me a week to recuperate and then I have to start all over again.  Which is a big reason why I’m not a regular at the gym!  I am starting smaller and with less over eagerness so I’m thinking maybe that will prove to be an advantage this time around.  Of course, with Thanksgiving coming up I will not be without challenges!

The beauty of my work out was that I felt good about it and knowing that I was doing something positive to improve my lifestyle.  (And does that counter-act the wine I was drinking the night before? lol).

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise

Leave a Reply

